Good Cop, Bad Cop: Democrats, Republicans

I saw Cedric this morning, walking Christmas around the streets of Observatory, where I went for a Cafe Latté at Mimi’s. We spoke of many things, me looking like an international playboy, as he put it, and him, well, you know Cedders…

Anyways, I mentioned how I managed to confuse the US Democratic Party 2008 presidential candidate with a certain golfer whose name starts with T. That was probably due to my inherent racism:) But more likely due to the fact that there are only two high profile black names in the news over there. Can you think of any others off the top of your head?

Cedric went on to say that the farce of the US political system is that there is all this posturing every few years, by characters who resemble the Good Cop, Bad Cop couple from all those movies and TV series. They have the same goal in mind: getting the suspect to submit to their interrogation, be it via soft sell or hard. And I guess behind the one-way mirror sits the Captain. In this case, the Captains of Industry, who control the whole political show.

17 Responses to “Good Cop, Bad Cop: Democrats, Republicans”

  1. neil Says:

    If you pick up a newspaper you’ll also find these names (among others):
    John Conyers
    Alan Keys
    Condoleeza Rice
    Susan Rice
    Colin Powel
    Kenneth Blackwell
    Jeremiah Wright
    Jesse Jackson
    Michael (Happy 50th) jackson
    Al Sharpton
    Shaquel (sick) O’Neal
    Michael Jordan
    the top of my head runneth over…

    Anyway, this good-cop, bad-cop metaphor was also rendered during the primary campaign by someone at Salon.com, who observed that McCain-Obama were like the Starsky-Hutch buddy-cop teams ganging up against evil (at that stage personified by Clinton and the sisterhood of the travelling suitpants).

    And finally, what was the name of the Cray brothers’ gang?

  2. the1rod Says:

    So the ‘Captains of Industry’ behind the mirror is the new angle, which probably was not part of Salon.com.

    Yes, I accept some counter-argument on the names, although we should measure the column inches, like what Chomsky and Edward Herman did in ‘Manufacturing Consent’. But who the hell are John Conyers, Alan Keys, Susan Rice, Kenneth Blackwell, Jeremiah Wright, Al Sharpton?
    I mean, will the common people, like me, who have no interest in the newspapers, recognise these names?
    Is Michael Jordan still in the news? What for? And Shaquel O’Neal? Whodat? Besides, as far as I can figure out from the names, Condoleeza and Susan Rice must be female.

    And do the people above get sponsorship from Nike, and Tag Heuer? Actually, the latter was another case of mistaken identity: I saw Obama advertising those watches on the back of a magazine the otehr day, until i doubled checked because of my confusion with the Woods, and it turned out ot be Lewis Hamilton:)

  3. neil Says:

    What’s with the *probably* in “probably was not part of Salon.com.”? Why don’t you just read the article like the rest of us?

    “But who the hell are John Conyers, Alan Keys, Susan Rice, Kenneth Blackwell, Jeremiah Wright, Al Sharpton?”
    Like I said, why don’t you just read, like the rest of us. Or watch TV or podcasts or something.

    As for “I mean, will the common people, like me, who have no interest in the newspapers, recognise these names?”
    So if you “have no interest in the newspapers” how do you derive that “there are only two high profile black names in the news over there”?
    You can’t have it both ways.

  4. the1rod Says:

    I mean mos the TV, which is what us common people ‘read’.

  5. the1rod Says:

    here’s the experimentalist in me: i conducted a ‘straw poll’ at the office amongst the ‘common folk’. none of them seemed to have heard of John Conyers, for example. Ask people around where you are. I am even daring to suggest that the proiverbial man-in-the-street will be hard pressed to recall some of the names you mention.

    Another experiment: where is the measure of column inches and airtime that these poeple enjoy? Surely some goody-goody is running a website somewhere with these details. Think I’ll google on that and report back.

  6. neil Says:

    While you’re at it, ask the people on your sample which American news media (radio, newspapers, magazines, newsblogs, television channels etc) they consume. Then ask yourself what you’re doing in the data analysis business.

  7. the1rod Says:

    I’m a bit clueless about what you’re saying, but it sounds rude. Haha!

  8. neil Says:

    Well, initially you asked about black people mentioned in the news “over there”. Then you did some experimentation with people “over here” (unless my assumption that “the office” in your straw pole was lapa side of the Atlantic). So I was unrudely wondering wether your sample was actually drawn from the universe it’s supposed to represent. a’hight?

  9. neil Says:

    And then you may (not) like this:
    http://www.splicetoday.com/politics-and-media/a-trivialized-presidential-election

  10. the1rod Says:

    well, i was talking about little old me, ‘over here’, as it were. Plus the people around me, not the natives of the US, who may have heard of John Conyers, Alan Keys, Susan Rice, Kenneth Blackwell, Jeremiah Wright, Al Sharpton, etc.

    Still, the experiment needs doing. Count the ‘Column inches’. Where Column inches can be airtime, newspapers, blogs, readers. it is measureable. Does anyone know who does it?

  11. neil Says:

    “Talking about little old me”? That’s an outright untruth. Your words were “there are only two high profile black names in the news over there.”

    Go on… scroll up and read your post like the rest of us.

  12. the1rod Says:

    Hello? but this is mos MY blog, ek sê. It’s not factual, or nuttin’. Just a record of my thawts and words and deeds. Well, some of them, anyway.
    Nowhere did I state that ‘it was reported’. It is true for me, anyway.
    Adn the people in the straw poll.
    Oh, I see that I did say ‘fact’. Whoops…I can see how that could be ahem…misinterpreted:)

  13. neil Says:

    It looks like the International globalising bourgeois-imperialist capitalist pig-dog column-inch defiling black-baring 4th estate barons are finally coming round to your way of… err… “think”ing. This from MSNBC’s Howard (a fine man he):

    “For two years, Obama played the golf course of presidential politics with the ice-cold self-assuredness of a Tiger Woods.”

    (http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/26640489/)

  14. the1rod Says:

    Now he’s just gotta steer his presidential ambition with the aplomb of a Lewis Hamilton.

    Respect!

  15. the1rod Says:

    I think the report may have been improved by including the keyword ‘from’ as follows:

    “But more likely due to the fact that there are only two high profile black names in the news ‘from’ over there.”

    Other qualifications would have to be clarifying what is meant by a ‘fact’.

  16. neil Says:

    The report may have been improved by first reading the news and then commenting on it.

  17. Carl Says:

    Yesterday was feeling a bit nostalgic and decided to google the names of the people who I last had contact with half a life time ago … well those whose surnames I could remember. This blog is one of the places I ended up. I see from the exchanges on this post that somethings hasn’t changed between you and neil. Anyways, I just thought I’d drop you a note to say Howzit. Reading some of the posts has been entertaining and well the very long ones I skipped.

    Cheers Carl Brown

    PS. Hi to Neil if he reads this post.

Leave a Reply

