What a day yesterday was.

It all started the day before. Hee hee.

Eva called to say that they need me (schnell) in Germany. So I started at 09h00 yesterday by booking my ticket for Sunday adn getting my ’embassy’ letter. That all finished at 10h30. The it was off to teh bank. I didn’t have to wait long in the queue, but at the desk it was painful: I changed euros into rands, and then back into euros again. All for getting a slip of paper saying that I ahd mad  aforeign exchange. But I wasn’t going to use Rands to buy Euros, not at R12 to the Euro, no sirreee! I rather used the R9.5 to thte euro money from last year. I lost R600  in commission & fees to teh bank.  What a strange thing foreiegn exchange is. It turns out that it is easier to jst get a bank statement with and credit card limit details. Next time.

 

But the fun did not stop there. Because the transaction dragged on for forty minutes (dring which time I went to print teh exmbassy letter I had requested by telephone earlier), it was 11h40, still no money. I said I had to go and pleae ro fax the receipt to me. I hurtled into town, parked on the pavement, adn dashed into the Safmarine building, got my ticket adn sat down for a minute. The Noon gun went off! Just in time. I went downstairs again to await teh fax at the potnet just around the corner. No answer from the bank people. Park teh car.

Call the bank again. Get money from the Autobank, even though I have Euros900 in my pocket. Call again. Yes they will fax it. Wait at the postnet. No fax.

Back to the embassy / consulate. Queue number 54. The queue is at 36. Wait. Call the Postnet to find out if they have the fax yet. No. Call again in ten minutes. Twenty minutes. Yes, they have the fax. Finally! Gettit. Back up to the 19th floor. Thankfully the lift works, no load shedding. Hand in my application two hours after I got teh ticket. Smiled sweetly. Got a hard time, of course, as usual, but thankfully wasn’t teh monster lady from before. I don’t thnk even I could charm her. I will have to go thru the French next time. Who do I know in Paris?

Rushed back to do some work. But wait, have to go to the bank ot get the actual money. Guess what? Wait again! feels like I’ve been queueing all fucking day. Eventually get out of there at 15h00. Six hours of admin!

Better go now to get my visa…

Leave a Reply

