Sugar Mountain High XI

I trod back through the woods with eyes downcast. What would I tell Pedro? Would his mother say anything to him? Aside from these thoughts, I began to feel low, the after-effect of The Rush. I wanted to lie down next to the path to have a nap. But I went instead a little way off the path to a stream to rinse my face and hands.  I began to feel a little better.

A rare clarity took hold of me. I saw that The Rush had begun to control me. By going to his mother, I felt that I had betrayed Pedro. He had wanted to show me a new way of living, but I had allowed myself to become overwhelmed. Would he still trust me? Would he still love me? I needed him so much, especially now. I feared a descent even deeper than what I had just achieved. I saw an image of myself bed- ridden in a virtual stupor, wanting only one thing, living only for that one thing: The Rush. I looked at my hands, and then my body. How they had changed.  Where was once a petite feminine figure, was the beginning of bloating. And my arm: a purple swelling had begun to form where Pedro’s mother had injected me.

Who could I turn to for help? Not Pedro: I wanted to go back to him cleansed. I thought of Elmo, reliable Elmo. I began to run. He did not seem to have been as taken with The Rush as I was. I was mistaken. When I reached his house, Elmo was lying in a pool of blood. Not his own. His eyes had the far-off vacant look from The Rush. He could not be roused. I followed the trail of blood…

It led to a cupboard at the back of the room. Afraid to open it, I turned back towards Elmo, but the door of the cupboard began to creak. I turned to look, and froze as the door swung open.

One Response to “Sugar Mountain High XI”

  1. Boy George Says:

    Oh wait. Yes, I have. I’m sorry, but I just don’t have it in me right now to type it all out again. Besides, it was just ramblings anyway. You didn’t want to hear me go on and on about this, right?

Leave a Reply

